Want to create interactive content? It’s easy in Genially!

Over 30 million people create interactive content in Genially

Check out what others have designed:

Transcript

Key: Click for info Hover for picture Hover for picture
Pittsylvania

Here lies what's left of the estate of Pittsylvania, just a few foundational stones barely visible through the overgrowth.Built by Landon Carter jr around 1765, Pittsylvania was a large and prominent plantation. By the outbreak of the Civil War, the plantation was mostly vacant and in disarray but the main house acted as a field hospital after the battles of Manassas. The home burned down shortly after the battle of Second Manassas in the fall of 1862.

Having already been built over one hundred years before the Battle of First Manassas the Henry House as it is known today belonged to one Judith Henry. Judith was an 84-year-old bedridden widow, too old and weak to work the family land she had inherited. On the day of the battle Union troops fired upon the house believing Confederate troops to be hiding inside, but there was only Judith. She died that day, making Judith Henry the only known civilian casualty of the Battle of First Manassas. By the end of the battle not much of the home was left and what we see today is post-war construction. Directly behind the house is a monument honoring the Union men who died during the battle which was constructed in 1965.
The Henry House
Union Colonel Wiliam T. Sherman crossed this section of Bull Run Creek to flank Confederate forces. He ruled out using the nearby Stone Bridge as its position was too open and was rumored to be mined. He met no opposition but the steep terrain kept his artillery from joining the movement.
Farm Ford
Here stood the house of James Robinson, a free black man who built this house for his family in 1840. In 1861 during the battle, John's family to refuse from the fighting in a neighbor's cellar as James gid under the nearby Turnpike bridge. Though given its location the Robinson home sustained little damage during both the first and second battles of Manassas. The house was used as a Union headquarters during the second battle. Sadly, the house burned down in 1993 leaving only the foundation stones.
The Robinson House
The Stone Bridge was hotly contested through the two battles as it was the easiest route for troops, horses, and artillery to cross the Bull Run Creek. It was heavily guarded by the Confederacy but after the Battle of Second Manassas in 1862 it was blown up by Union forces What stands today was built in 1884 and is similar in design to the original.
Stone Bridge
Built as a tavern prior to 1850, The Stone House saw many travelers along the Warrenton Turnpike (now Route 29). By 1860 wagon traffic on the turnpike slowed and The Stone House was often empty. In July of 1861, the house found itself in the center of combat as the First Battle of Manassas had commenced. It was an obvious oasis for any wounded soldier, who would crawl their way inside for safety. When the fighting stopped The Stone House became an armistice zone for both sides to tend to their wounded.
The Stone House
This stone is dedicated to the memory of Private George T. Stoval of the 8th Georgia Infantry. Stoval was one of the first to volunteer from his community, his grieving parents had the stone commissioned in November of 1861 but the stone remained unclaimed for some time. The exact date of installation is unknown.
The Stoval Marker
Carter Family Cemetary

This cemetery holds the bodies of over 70 Carter family members with generations spanning two centuries. The bodies are laid in a linear fashion and none are marked with any sort of marker. The cemetery includes the bodies of Landon Carter Jr. builder of Pittsylvania and Dr. Isaac Henry the husband of Judith Henry who died at Henry House. The rock wall encompassing the cemetery is comprised of foundational stones from several of Pittsylvania's outbuildings. The last internment occurred in 1903.

The Van Pelt family moved to Prince William County from New Jersey in the 1850s, acquiring the farm they called "Avon". Given its location, the farm caught the attention of both armies during the war, during the first battle it was occupied by the Confederates, and during the second the Union used it as a hospital. During the war, the Van Pelt's remained staunch unionists much to the ire of their neighbors. A fire destroyed the house in the 1930s now a lone bench overlooks where the home and farm once stood.
Van Pelt House