Want to make creations as awesome as this one?


Texas Local and State Government

by Michael Casarez

Functions of Texas government

The Texas government consists of 3 branches on the state and local level, the Legislative, Executive, and Judicative. On the state level, their functions are:
Legislative: fund the government, passes bills, set taxes, make laws
Executive: carries out and enforces laws, oversees Texas state agencies, sets policies for colleges and universities, state hospitals, prisons, and for the use of natural resources
Judicial: sees that laws are properly enforced, oversees law enforcement, settles disputes between citizens

Functions of Texas government

Functions of the local government are
Legislative: sets all salaries and benefits, maintains all county facilities, roads and transportation infrastructure, approval of county budgets
Executive: manages and operates the county jails, is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the laws passed by the legislative
Judicial: interprets the law and resolves legal disputes, operation of the state court system

City Hall San Antonio

Structure of the government

Governor, Texas Supreme Court, Texas Legislature



Commissioners Court, Commissioner, County Judge, County Sheriff, Justice Of The Peace, City Council, City Manager, Mayor

Government Officials


Governor: Greg Abbott

Senator: John Cornyn
Senator: Ted Cruz

Mayor San Antonio: Ron Nirenberg
Sheriff Bexar County: Javier Salazar
City Council: Mario Bravo, Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Phyllis Viagran, Adriana Rocha, Teri Castillo, Melissa Cabello, Ana Sandoval, Manny Pelaez, John Courage, Clayton Perry


Differences between local and state government

State: government makes state laws and carries out state laws, state government deals with the issues of all counties in the state

Local: government makes local laws and enforces local laws, it deals with day-to-day issues of local residents and businesses