Want to make creations as awesome as this one?





Branches of the Government

The United States Government is separated into three branches to maintain a balance of power through a system of checks and balances.

The Executive

The Judicial

The Legislative

The Executive

This President, Vice President, and their cabinet compose this branch. They have the power of veto on all legislation and serve as commander in chief of the U.S. military.

The Legislative

Congress which is composed of the House of Representatives and the Senate is responsible for creating laws and managing the national budget. They also have the power to declare war. They are held in check by the presidential veto power.



The federal court system with the supreme court as its most powerful arm lead interpretation of The Constitution and laws. They have the power to determine a law unconstituional. Supreme Court Justices are appointed by the president and approved by congress for a lifelong term.


You now know more about checks and balances, and remember that your vote determines who fills these branches!